Peach and Blueberry Buckle

I found this recipe for Peach and Blueberry Buckle in a recent issue of Real Simple.

Mike has this weird sensitivity to certain fruits where he gets itchy in his throat and his lips get swollen.  It happens with all tree fruits with pits and apples. But since it came on in adulthood, he misses all of his favorite fruits that he used to be able to eat without a problem.  It also happens with almonds.

However, we’ve discovered that when those fruits are cooked, he has no problem.  So even though most cooked fruits (except berries) are pretty gross to me, I knew that he’d love this recipe and I had to make it for him.

Peach and Blueberry BuckleI followed the recipe but eliminated the almonds and powdered sugar.  It baked for a little less time than the recipe called for.

Peach and Blueberry Buckle PieceI had a piece the night I made it but the peaches ruin it for me. Mike loves it though and I’m glad I could find a way for him to enjoy the summer fruits he misses.  Now if only I could find him a good plum recipe.  They’re his favorite.

1 thought on “Peach and Blueberry Buckle

  1. I have a good plum one I just tried last week. It uses whole wheat, which I really enjoy. I’ll find it and send it to you!

Leave a comment