Yarn Dyeing Class at Main Street Yarn

I had such a great afternoon yesterday.  I felt like I was back at summer camp!

I signed up for a yarn dyeing class at Main Street Yarn in Rebersburg, PA. The shop, which just opened a few months ago, is only about thirty minutes away from State College and it’s in a beautiful valley. It’s very picturesque and throughout our class many Amish people passed by on horses, in buggies and on bicycles.

We spent our afternoon under this tent learning how to dye yarn.  Our teacher was Libby from Mad About Ewes farm.

Behind Main Street YarnsWe each got two skeins of fingering weight yarn to practice space dyeing and set to work mixing our cake dyes.

Wilston DyesMixed Up DyesNaked YarnThe next part was the best.  We all started dyeing our yarns and it was so neat to see how we all chose colors differently and placed them on our yarn in a variety of ways.

019 020 023We wrapped our wet yarn up in plastic wrap, squeezing out the excess water and then cooked them in the microwave for four minutes.

017 025 022After our yarn had cooled, we took turns rinsing it in the sink.  The color really stuck to the fibers as there was no color in the water when we rinsed.  We hung our yarns over the hitching post outside the store to see our results.

Yarn on a hitching post More yarn on a hitching postThese were mine.

My first dyed yarnThis horse even came to see our creations.

Amish buggy and horse with my yarnIt was a really great time and I can’t wait to knit these skeins up.  I love the vibrant colors I chose and the way it all turned out.

my yarn

2 thoughts on “Yarn Dyeing Class at Main Street Yarn

  1. How much fun you had! I am sooo jealous! I have not tried dyeing yarn yet. Was it that easy you would do it again? It is hard to grab hand dyed yarns from certain indie dyers. 😦 Let us see your finished knit projects please!! I luv the green/teal colored one you did!

Leave a Reply

