Chicken and Spinach Lasagna

I came about this recipe in kind of an odd way.  I had it for lunch in New Hampshire but it had been brought to the home where I had lunch by old friends in State College.  I traveled all the way to New England only to have lunch that was cooked at home!

I’m so glad because it was such a nice alternative to a traditional lasagna. When I got home I talked with the woman who had the recipe so that I could make it myself.

I love the way it browned a bit on top.  And even though they are Mike’s least favorite, my best part of a lasagna are the crunchy exposed noodle bits.

Chicken and Spinach Lasagna

Inside it’s creamy and with tons of delicious spinach.

Piece of Chicken and Spinach LasagnaWe cheated and used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, but even if we had cooked the chicken, it’s pretty easy to make.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 1 c. grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 medium onion, minced
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 2 c. cottage cheese (we used unsalted 1%)
  • 9 to 10 uncooked lasagna noodles (we used the no cook kind)
  • 2 pkgs chopped spinach thawed and drained
  • 2 c. chicken broth
  • 8 oz. mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 c. milk
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 2 c. cooked chicken cut up

Here’s how I constructed it.

Melt butter and add garlic and onion. Stir in flour and salt. Cook, stirring, until bubbly.  Stir in milk and broth. Heat to boiling and cook for 1 minute. Stir in mozzarella cheese, 1/2 cup Parmesan, basil, oregano and pepper.  Cook over low heat until cheese melts.

In a greased 9 by 13 inch pan layer sauce, noodles, cottage cheese, chicken, spinach and then sauce.  Add one more layer of noodles, cottage cheese, chicken, spinach and sauce. Top with remaining noodles and sauce then sprinkle with 1/2 c. of Parmesan cheese.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes.

Leave a comment