About that card catalog

Well, it’s finally almost fully finished and being used exactly as planned.

This is the story of my card catalog. After being washed down with stiff old towels cut into rags and Murphy’s Oil Soap, most of the grittiest dirt came off.  I was pretty sure I was not refinishing it and I’m glad I didn’t.  Sure, there are still some pencil marks and dents but it’s clean, useful, perhaps even charming with signs of years of use in the Cincinnati Public Library.  I love it.

I have it situated between the two windows of my room (man cave, studio, dressing room, whatever it’s being called).  I am not sure it’s the best spot aesthetically but it’s fine for now.  It’s a room with many different purposes that don’t always work together. That said, do I need curtains?  Because the windows look so naked.

Anyway, on top there are some knitting and photography books and this mega vase that I bought to store unused yarn ends.

One thing I’ve started to do is fill in the front of the drawers with yarn labels.  I haven’t done them all and will likely move them around for color purposes.  And I might end up tossing some out (how many Cascade labels will I need on there even if I knit with a lot of it?) as I use up more of the unique yarns in my stash.

So what’s inside? Well the whole bottom half is dedicated to knitting.

There are my needles.

And yarn, of course.

A lot of the drawers on top are still empty, except for the ones that have been set up to hold all of my jewelry.  Since most of jewelry is costumey and large, it was all shoved into a jewelry box and it was so hard to find anything.  I lined all sixty drawers of the card catalog with foam board so that the surfaces were level.  And in the row for my jewelry, I picked up a bunch of different organizers from The Container Store.

Sure it’s great that all my knitting stuff is in here.  But really, using the card catalog for jewelry storage has changed how I wear my jewelry.  I forgot I owned some of these things but I can find them now and actually use them.

This was such a great find and it makes me happy to see it every day.  It’s just so useful and so neat.

And now to find a use for the twenty plus drawers that are still empty.

13 thoughts on “About that card catalog

  1. I totally remember those card catalogs! What a lovely piece to have and it looks great! Love how you’re using the drawers to organize your stash.

  2. oh my goodness I’m so envious of your card catalog! What a great find and I love that you have all sorts of things in there besides crafting things. Your jewelry organizers are awesome!

  3. Pingback: My card catalog keeps getting better | It's Knot You

  4. Pingback: Updates on projects and other things | It's Knot You

Leave a Reply

