Knitting in Color

After I finished my Augustine Shawlette this week, I knew I had to knit with more color.  I love the results but if you look at my Ravelry project page, you can see knitting with a creamy white is not typical for me.

I looked at my knitting goals for the year and I probably could have made a commitment to finishing that Fishtail Lace Scarf because that has plenty of color. But instead, I did what every crazy knitter does and started a new project with even more color.  And it’s making me so happy.

I decided to cast on for an Inspira Cowl.

I cast on using some Noro Kureyon from my stash. I’m knitting the Mesa Rock version and cast on 180 stitches on US 10.5 needles.  I want it to be big and cozy and fit around my shoulders.  I suspect I might run out of the 154 colorway partially through but I have some bits of Silk Garden laying around that might look okay. Or I guess if I have to I’ll buy another skein of a similarly bright colorway of Kureyon because it doesn’t look like I’ll find any 154.  But I really want to avoid buying any because the point is to use up yarn.

I already love the way it looks.  It’s totally filling my need for color.

5 thoughts on “Knitting in Color

  1. Hey Lauren! Love the cowl! The colors are stunning! You may want to do like 7 rows of the bright and then 3 rows of the other color then alternate! Would look like a great patterning…. and become large enough! I will have to start calling you Kaffe Fassett protege! 😀 I put the cowl in my favs on Rav and will do it at some point too! Love the color work! Happy Knitting!

    • Alternating is a good idea! It is the contrast color so I don’t need as much. I don’t know – I refuse to rip back so we’ll see what happens. I’ve already looked and there are some current Kureyon colorways that would save me in a pinch!

      I can’t wait to see yours!

  2. Pingback: Finished: Inspira Cowl | It's Knot You

Leave a Reply

