Banana-Blueberry Buttermilk Bread

We started our vacation visiting with friends and going to the beach. This second half has been spent at home doing whatever we want whenever we want.  It’s been glorious. I’ve gotten up and done some sort of run or walk or combination of the two almost every day since Monday (I skipped Thursday).  And then we’ve used the rest of the day to do anything else that seems important.

Today’s big plan was to finish the book I was reading but as I settled in, I thought about some bananas that were browning on the counter, the open container of buttermilk from last week’s cake and some blueberries that we still hadn’t eaten.

Suddenly I was searching online for a recipe and making an impromptu Banana-Blueberry Buttermilk Bread.

I followed the recipe for the most part except I used 2 and 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour since that’s what I had and put in two cups of blueberries. It was so easy to put together, in fact I did it all by hand with a whisk.  And it turned out great.

Mike and I shared a piece for an afternoon snack (after I finished my book) and we could not believe how good it was. I guess all that buttermilk and mashed up banana helped keep it moist but the outside is firmer and it just tastes so good. I don’t normally make banana bread because it’s just okay to me (but I’ll gladly eat it when others make it because a home baked treat is always delicious) but this was amazing with the addition of blueberries.

This is one of many reasons that it’s so nice to just be on vacation at home and live in the moment because I discovered this simple, tasty recipe that I am definitely making again.

3 thoughts on “Banana-Blueberry Buttermilk Bread

Leave a Reply

