A hat for a peanunt

My friend has a baby on the way and tomorrow I will be seeing her so I thought I would give a her a couple things that I made for the baby.  I just need buttons to finish the one item.  But this two night, quick baby hat is finished.

I mostly followed the pattern which is called Cozy Cap. I did the first increase row wrong because I wasn’t fully paying attention so I wound up with seven stitches on my needles at the end. I’d wanted to do the knotted i-cord on top but instead I did this i-cord decreasing until I had three stitches.  I wasn’t even sure if you could decrease while doing an i-cord, but I like the way it turned out.  It sort of reminds me of the Lullaby League hats in the Wizard of Oz.

The yarn is Louisa Harding Millais and it is so shiny and soft.  It will need hand washing but for such a tiny item for such a little head, I hope that isn’t too big of a deal.  Maybe by the time she grows out of it, it won’t even need to be washed that much.

Leave a Reply

