Self-frosting Nutella Cupcakes

I decided to do some baking today to share tomorrow night at my friend Abbey’s bring your own craft night (I bring knitting). This self-frosting Nutella cupcake recipe was one of the first things I found on Pinterest.

This was really easy to pull together.ย  I ended up doubling the recipe because we needed to try them today for quality control purposes and Mike thought it would be rude to not bring a full dozen cupcakes.

The batter was thick like the recipe said so that the Nutella could be swirled on top.

They came out great although I would have probably baked them for less than 25 minutes although the recipe recommends 25 – 30 minutes.

We decided to taste one to see how they came out.

They were a little more dense than I like and could be a little more moist. I went back and read the recipe to see what the comments said. I realized that I left out half the fat!ย  I never put in the oil, only the butter. So, I guess they’re healthier than the original?

That said, they are still really good. And anything that’s lacking because of the missing fat can be made up with a glass of milk on the side. I still plan to share so we’ll see what my fellow crafters think tomorrow night.

9 thoughts on “Self-frosting Nutella Cupcakes

  1. These cupcakes have never looked better – your pics are some of the best I have seen ๐Ÿ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Tropical Caramelised German Baked Pancake

    • Thank you very much. I have only seen the one blog about these cupcakes where I found the recipe. I should check out the others to see what they have to say about them.

  2. Pingback: For BYOCN Some Soft and Fluffy Blueberry Lemon Cookies | It's Knot You

Leave a Reply

