Simple Tomato Sauce: New Year’s Eve Dinner

We decided to end the year with one of Mike’s favorites – stuffed shells and meatballs.  The basis of all of this is a delicious tomato sauce recipe I found a couple years ago.

It’s been a while since I’ve made stuffed shells but I seem to remember the shells of my youth being much bigger.  The box says jumbo but I am skeptical.  This shell is next to a teaspoon for scale.

Everything turned out perfect especially the cheese filling which I always just sort of make up as I go. Our only error was that we prematurely meatballed the sauce and realized after that we hadn’t yet blended the sauce per the recipe. It was a bit chunky which wasn’t a big deal at all but I always like having a reason to use our immersion blender.

And the best way to wash down New Year’s Eve dinner is with some sparkling wine.

Love the bubbles.

Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Simple Tomato Sauce: New Year’s Eve Dinner

Leave a Reply

