A sweater that I can actually wear

Back in November I talked about needing to finish a few projects that are long overdue. Well, last week I finally finished and blocked my first sweater, a Lady Kina.

I thought this sweater was going to be too small for me but the perfect size for my mom.  After blocking it and sewing on a button, it looked bigger so I got nervous that it would suddenly be too big for her.  And she tried it on and it was definitely too big on her but now it fits me perfectly!  I was a little disappointed because I was excited to give it to her, but I am also looking forward to wearing it myself.

I knit this with Classic Wool by Ella Rae in the plum colorway (#45) and it looks great. I have no idea what this button is from but it seemed to be the best button in my stash.

The sleeves are a little snug but I think I’d rather them a little snugger than too loose considering the body of this is so swingy and I wouldn’t want to be pulling them up all the time.

As I was knitting this I decided that I am not a sweater knitter. But after putting it on, I think I’m changing my mind.  There were a lot of long purl rows on this project, but maybe a pullover would be more my speed. It might have taken me over a year to make this, in actual knitting time it was fairly quick.  I can’t wait to wear this.

 

9 thoughts on “A sweater that I can actually wear

  1. Pingback: Bow Headband | It's Knot You

  2. Looks great! I just picked up some grey yarn last week to make this. Nervous about the fit as all I’ve done so far is some mittens and a couple chunky hats!
    amcess721 on Rav

    • I was nervous too. My biggest mistake was not blocking my swatch. If I had blocked it, I would have known that the yarn would grow and I wouldn’t have been so nervous as I was trying it on while I was knitting.

Leave a Reply

