Finished: Honeycomb Hat

I thought this would be a quicker knit but I have not been knitting as much during the week these past three weeks.  I hope to change that as there are a lot of things I want to finish and new projects to start.

This hat is for a friend. She requested black and gray and when I found this Cascade 220, I knew it would be perfect. However, I didn’t want to knit the most simple hat so I chose the Honeycomb Hat.

I love the way this turned out. When I tried it on, I loved the way it hugged my head.  It feels warm and safe, and that’s just what I want for this specific hat.

At first I thought I’d try to block out the way it turns up at the bottom, but I don’t trust my amateur blocking skills and I’d be sad if it got loose. So it doesn’t look as pretty laying on it’s own.  But it looks great on a head and that’s what matters most.

What makes this hat special is the honeycomb pattern around the bottom. This yarn is not the best to showcase the cables that create a beautiful pattern. But it was more important that I met my friend’s color request. To achieve the pattern, I had to do sixty cables per row, every other row for a total of 14 rows. At first, I thought I made a bad decision. But I found my groove quickly.  And it’s so worth it.

I can’t wait to give this to my friend.

4 thoughts on “Finished: Honeycomb Hat

  1. Pingback: On my needles way too long | It's Knot You

    • Thank you. I might actually do it again because once I got used to doing it, it wasn’t bad and it was only like seven or eight rows.

  2. Pingback: Bow Headband | It's Knot You

Leave a Reply

