Sunday Dinner: Gourmet Goulash

My dad’s boss and his wife are originally from Hungary. His wife shared this recipe, which she called Gourmet Goulash, with my mom at least twenty years ago. I have no idea how authentic it is but I know it is delicious.

I used to request it a lot growing up. So ever since I had my own kitchen, I’ve made it a few times every fall and winter.

The ingredients are pretty simple and it’s easy to put together.

You cook everything on the stove first and then bake it for an hour and a half. I used to have to cook it in a big pot and then transfer it into a big casserole dish but then I found this Cuisinart dutch oven at TJ Maxx a couple years ago and it makes this recipe much easier.

I am very picky about onions, but all the onions in this get soft and translucent and take on the flavor of the sauce which gets so thick and flavorful after baking.

After it’s been in about an hour, I start boiling water for egg noodles.  You could serve this over things like spaetzle or mashed potatoes or rice but I like egg noodles best.

I also think it goes really well with green beans and almost always make some to go with. And because I like foods all mixed together, I just throw them in my bowl and then mix it all up.

The best part of this dinner is the sauce. It’s thick, creamy, tangy and delicious. The onions and beef get so soft and tender that you don’t even need a knife. To me, this tastes like a cold Sunday night and it makes the house smell homey and feel warm. I love this dinner so much and because it makes so much, we always have at least one night of leftovers to look forward to later in the week.

Recipe:

  • 3 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 2 pds lean beef cubed
  • 2 medium onions (I like to cut them in rings but that’s just a personal preference)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 1/2 cups of red wine
  • 1 1/4 cups of sour cream
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce

Melt butter in a dutch oven and brown beef. Add onions and lightly saute about ten minutes. Stir in salt, pepper, flour and paprika.  Add wine, sour cream and tomato sauce and stir until well blended. Transfer into a 375 degree oven and bake for one and a half hours.

Leave a Reply

