Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Today really feels like fall.  It’s cold, it’s rainy and the leaves are noticeably changing and falling off the trees. One of my favorite fall things are pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.

Many of the desserts I make come from my childhood (like those awesome caramel brownies) and these cookies are no different.  For all I know, this is the most standard pumpkin chocolate chip cookie around but I have no idea where she got it from.  All I know is they are good.

They are so soft and smell so wonderful.  They’re almost like mini muffin tops.

Here are all the ingredients.

I ended up with this organic pumpkin because that’s all our grocery store had.

I know in previous years there has been a pumpkin shortage and I heard this year might be the same because of all the rain so I bought two cans, just in case.  This can is 15 ounces and I doubled the recipe which calls for one cup of pumpkin, so it was a little shy of two cups.

This is so easy to put together.  Today, I threw in a bit of nutmeg.  I’ve never done that before and I think it worked really well. I also usually put in extra cinnamon because I love that flavor in them.

Then you drop teaspoonfuls on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

I baked them for 10 minutes at 375 degrees and they came out perfect.  They are soft and cake-like almost mini-muffin tops.

Because I doubled the recipe, I now have a lot of cookies but we plan to share.

Look at the innards – cinnamony, pumpkiny and chocolatey.  Perfect.Recipe:

  • 1 cup cooked pumpkin
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda dissolved in 1 tsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

In a large bowl combine the pumpkin, sugar, oil and egg. In another bowl stir together flour, baking powder and cinnamon. Add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture along with dissolved baking soda and mix well. Stir in vanilla and chocolate chips.

Drop by teaspoonfuls on a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Ooey Gooey Caramel Pumpkin Blondies | It's Knot You

Leave a Reply

