Black Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas

I think I mentioned this previously, but the number one best recipe find of the last year was Black Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas.  I’d eat these any time of year, but we haven’t made them all summer, so tonight was the first time in months.

It’s pretty easy to do and I guess we’ve done them a little differently each time.  We make the sweet potatoes and mash them up with half the black beans. We add the other half of the black beans with the green chiles, cilantro, cumin, chili and red pepper.

I always made enough for plenty of leftovers so I divide the mixture into ten flour tortillas and put them in baking dishes that have salsa verde on the bottom.

Then I pour the rest of the salsa verde on top and then sprinkle (um, heap?) on some white cheddar and bake at 350 degrees.

Tonight’s were in for about 15 minutes total because we were running low on time.  All the ingredients are cooked and the sweet potato mixture was probably still warm so they still turned out great.

Perfect! Goes great with pumpkin ale.

I think I’m going to cast off my boneyard shawl tonight! And today I ordered the yarn to start my DNA scarf for my dad. In the meantime, I might work on an old project or maybe start something quick and fun.  We’ll see!

5 thoughts on “Black Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas

  1. Great post! And i’ll have to look for that…where is that brewed, someone told me the one from Kansas is the best. And great enchiladas, there is a place here where I’m addicted to their vegetarian enchiladas made with spinach, squash and potatos. So good!

    • It’s brewed in Wilkes Barre, PA. It’s very good. The best pumpkin ale is Weyerbacher (in my opinion) and that’s also made in Pennsylvania. But pretty much now, all of the pumpkin ale is sold out around where I live. It goes so quickly!

Leave a Reply

