Caramel Brownies

Last night was knitting night and I decided to bring a treat.  Since I was a kid, my mom has been making these caramel brownies.  I’ve seen similar types of recipes called goo bars and caramel squares.  These are all accurate descriptions of this incredibly easy, rich treat. (Seriously, it’s so easy that the worst part is unwrapping all the caramels.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 – Devil’s food cake cake mix
  • 5 oz. can of evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup margarine (I used butter) melted
  • 14 oz bag of caramels
  • 1 cup of chocolate chips
  • Walnuts (I call these optional because although I like nuts, I hate them in brownies)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix the cake mix with the butter and 1/4 cup of the evaporated milk.  Press half this mixture into a 9×13 baking dish (now the recipe says not to grease it, but I do and it’s just fine) and bake for 6 minutes.

Meanwhile, melt the caramels in a pot with the remaining 1/3 of a cup of evaporated milk.

When you pull out the cake, top it with the chocolate chips, the walnuts (if you must) and the caramel.  Drop spoonfuls of the remaining cake mixture on the top and press into the caramel.  Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Cool and then refrigerate before cutting and serving.

These are so good and gooey and rich. I was nice enough to leave two at home for Mike.

But looking at these pictures, I wish I had just made two batches.  So delicious!

 

8 thoughts on “Caramel Brownies

  1. Pingback: Caramel Brownies (via It's Knot You) « Met⋅a⋅mor⋅pho⋅sis

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies | It's Knot You

  3. Pingback: Ooey Gooey Caramel Pumpkin Blondies | It's Knot You

Leave a Reply

