Peanut Butter Burgers

The birthday tradition here is that when it’s your birthday, you pick dinner and the other one makes it for you. Tonight’s birthday dinner was peanut butter burgers. Yeah, definitely not my birthday.

Mike first heard of the peanut butter burger from a friend and he did some research online. He decided from what he read that our burgers would include bacon, gruyere and peanut butter. I can get behind the idea of beef and peanut butter. I like peanut sauce.  Even bacon and peanut butter was okay. Gruyere and peanut butter? Eh.

But in the spirit of birthday, I made my burger the exact same way Mike made his.

Mike originally heard of them as Jiffy burgers. Luckily, we had Jif (reduced fat, but close enough).

JiffI spread it on.

spread itThen put on bacon.

bacon itI left that all on the top so the peanut butter would be close to the hot stuff so it could melt.  I put the tomato and lettuce on the bottom.

tomatoYum?

PB BurgerWith my first bite I was like, hmmm, not so bad. But really, it was just fine. Yes, the bacon was salty and the sweet creamy peanut butter balanced it out nicely.  The peanut butter did melt nicely as you can see in this picture a few bites in (sorry if that’s gross).

A Few Bites InBut after a few bites, I was over it.  I don’t want bacon on a burger.  And I don’t want peanut butter on it either. Give me some cheese and mustard and ketchup and I am good to go. Maybe it’s just that I don’t love burgers (I’ve never had a Big Mac in my life – fact). And putting peanut butter on a burger is so much more calories than my regular condiments.

Mike, however, really liked it and wants to experiment further. He’s thinking about pickles instead of bacon and trying natural peanut butter. Or maybe using a sharper cheese.

I’ll stick to my boring burger.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Burgers

  1. YUM! That looks so tasty! What an amazing idea! Thanks for sharing! I love peanut butter, bacon, and hamburgers! Who would of thought to put it all together! 🙂 I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

Leave a Reply

