Hair Wrap

Tonight I did something that I haven’t done in at least fifteen years – I made a hair wrap. A couple weeks ago I was at my friend Abby’s house and her daughter was making friendship bracelets and mentioned a friend had a hair wrap from the beach. I mentioned that I used to know how to make them and that I’d make one for her and tonight was the night.

I found a lot of embroidery floss from my friendship bracelet days and brought it over.

embroidery flossWe parted her hair and selected a section on the upper side.  I used a little clear rubber band at the top and then we used three colors and I cut strands that were about five times as long as her hair. I tied them on top and braided them through to the bottom.

startAnd then I started from the bottom up making knots.

bottoms upHalfway there.

Halfway thereAnd a little under two hours later (with a break for a delicious dinner of fish tacos – thanks Abby!) we were finished!

finished!I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.  I didn’t want to over promise but it looks like I can still do it!

happy hair wrap

Leave a Reply

