North Carolina Local Yarn Store Visits

One of the best parts of traveling regularly is getting to visit new places, see new things and meet new people. If I am somewhere and find myself with some free time, I try a new local yarn store.

I’ve made it to Great Yarns in Raleigh twice in a little over a year. Last year’s yarn turned into a bunch of baby bibs for the 2010 babies.  The buttons are from my local yarn store Stitch Your Art Out.

This past trip to Great Yarns yielded one skein of Malabrigo Lace in Amoroso (157). I’ve already purchased a pattern for this yarn and it’s a few projects down in the queue.

Malabrigo Lace

Malabrigo Lace

What is awesome about Great Yarns is they wound the skein for me!  I don’t know if this is a really common thing as I really haven’t visited that many stores but this is only the second store (the other was Knitting to Know Ewe in Bucks County, PA) that I’ve been to where they offered to wind it for me and it is such a treat.  I don’t have a swift or anything fancy.  I either have a reluctant volunteer hold up their hands (although my reluctant volunteer has gotten really good at saying know now that he knows how long it can take) or I sit with the skein around my knees and roll a ball.  So it is such a treat to get to work immediately.

I also had some time while I was heading out of Asheville to stop by Yarn Paradise.

One of the things I like to do when I get to visit a local yarn store is see if they have a selection of local yarns.  This store had a small selection (the Raleigh store didn’t have any but said their sister store in Chapel Hill had some) but as I wasn’t a huge fan of the yarn, I ended up with a pretty skein of Ella Rae Lace Merino.  I am in love with the colors as they are a rainbow but not so bright.  I am sure I’ll find some kind of scarf for it.

Ella Rae Lace Merino

Ella Rae Lace Merino

2 thoughts on “North Carolina Local Yarn Store Visits

  1. I try to go to a lot of LYSes when I travel as well, and it seems like Stitch Your Art Out is the only one who is militantly anti-winding. Some even bully me into letting them wind it for me. It is nice to not have to wind it!

    • Militantly anti-winding? No way! Well, they are so helpful there that I never even gave it a second thought that they never offered and I didn’t know any better to ask. In my experiences, most LYSes haven’t offered and but it is great to not do it myself. There was an in depth discussion about this on Ravelry and people get really upset, even stop shopping at stores that don’t.

Leave a Reply

