Orzo Pasta Salad

Last night we went to our friend Lisa and Andrew’s house so I brought my favorite pasta salad.  This is the first time I’ve made this salad this year and I love the way the kitchen smells while I’m putting it together.

I started making this loosely based on an orzo pasta salad my friend Celeste told me she makes.

Ingredients:

  • cooked orzo
  • chopped up asparagus (I throw it in the pasta water a few minutes before the orzo is done to cook it)
  • halved grape tomatoes
  • feta (I used reduced fat)
  • one lemon zest and juice
  • shredded or ribbons of basil
  • olive oil

I just mix all the ingredients together after the orzo has cooled and refrigerate until it’s served.

If it’s not lemony enough, you can add the juice of another lemon. This salad tastes like spring and summer. It’s refreshing, flagrant and wonderful. It can be a side or it’s own meal.

4 thoughts on “Orzo Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

