Lazy Matzo Ball Soup

Tonight’s dinner was planned around a jar of homemade chicken stock that Mike’s friend gave him.  So while the base of the soup was homemade, all the work that went into that stock (and boy did he work for it – he raised that chicken) was done by someone else.

We decided to turn it into matzo ball soup and we really cut corners. First, I bought pre-cut onion and celery at the grocery store. Also, I didn’t see actual carrots in the produce section. (I must have been temporarily blind?  How could they not have whole carrots at Giant, a normal grocery store where I buy carrots all the time?) So I bought those carrots in the bag that are cut with ribs and they worked out great once Mike chopped some of the larger pieces.

See that browned chicken piece?  That’s because we used a rotisserie chicken.

We even used matzo ball mix but we don’t keep matzo meal in the house so it’s almost the same thing. Matzo balls are really easy to make, mix or not.  Mike seasoned the soup with some poultry seasoning and garlic powder.

Don’t let the lazy fool you. This soup was good.  It only took about an hour total of prepping and cooking time, but this was so warm and cozy and it tasted like Sunday night.  And there is a ton so we’ll have it for leftovers this week.

I’ve got a few more inches to go on my cardigan and I’m trying to make up for not knitting at all last week.  And I have many other projects in my queue that I want to tackle as well.  I hope it’s a productive week!

 

Leave a Reply

